Support the news

A Glance At Flight Disruption Due To Volcanic Ash

Airspace throughout northern and central Europe was gradually reopening Tuesday, but officials say London airports are likely to remain closed. A new wave of ash forced Norway to close airports on the southwestern coast.

Britain: Britain's National Air Traffic Service says London airports are likely to remain closed Tuesday. Some flights have resumed in Scotland and northern England. Flights in U.K. airspace above 20,000 feet to be permitted later Tuesday.

Germany: Airspace officially closed for regular flights until 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT) Tuesday. Airlines permitted to operate a limited number of passenger flights under so-called visual flight rules, meaning that they can only fly at low levels within German airspace.

France: Limited flights from the Paris airports to several international destinations resume Tuesday, most French airports now open to limited traffic.

Netherlands: Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport lists both canceled and departed flights Tuesday morning after the Dutch government approved flights under certain conditions. KLM lists about 40 flights due to arrive or depart. Company says it is "resuming normal operations in a phased manner."

Sweden: Airspace over northern and central Sweden is open. Stockholm's Arlanda airport is open to flights to and from the U.S. and some European destinations. Airports in Goteborg and Malmo are closed. Overflights at high altitude are permitted across the country.

Norway: New wave of ash forced aviation officials to close airports on Norway's southwestern coast, from Stavanger to Kristiansand. Authorities had lifted air travel restrictions in most parts of Norway. Oslo's Gardermoen international airport reopened late Sunday night, and Ryanair's Oslo terminals, Torp and Rygge, opened Monday morning.

Austria: Austrian airspace remains open after permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect at 0300 GMT Monday (11 p.m. EDT Sunday). Some flights continue to be canceled but situation improving.

Ireland: Airports remain closed. Aer Lingus cancels all flights Tuesday.

Italy: Officials say a handful of domestic flights have resumed through Milan as Italy starts reopening airports.

Denmark: Danish airspace above 16,600 feet is open, so long-haul flights can cross Denmark at high altitude. There is no landing in Denmark. Airspace under 16,600 feet remains closed until 0000 GMT Wednesday (8 p.m. EDT Tuesday).

Switzerland: Airspace reopened to regular traffic at 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Tuesday.

Poland: Authorities closed airspace Tuesday until further notice.

Czech Republic: Air space and airports remain open. Prague airport has confirmed two thirds of normal daily flights for Tuesday.

Slovakia: Air space reopened since midday Monday, but Ryanair cancels all Tuesday flights from Bratislava.

Spain: Reopened all airports Sunday.

Finland: Finnish aviation authority closes airspace Tuesday and extends flight restrictions until Wednesday 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT). Authorities had opened it briefly Monday.

Latvia: Latvian airspace open Tuesday morning, and two flights have landed at Riga International Airport.

Lithuania: Airspace is open, and first departures have taken place from Vilnius International Airport. All flights at Kaunas Airport are canceled, as are a majority of those at Vilnius.

Estonia: Tallinn Airport was open until 0700GMT (3 a.m. EDT) and is now closed again, and will remain so until 1200GMT (8 a.m. EDT).

Hungary: Hungarian airspace open since Monday, with some minor restrictions overnight. Some 15 flights departed from Budapest's Ferihegy Airport early Tuesday to destinations including Prague, Paris, Madrid, Athens and Amsterdam.

Serbia and Montenegro: Airspace and all airports open since Sunday. Authorities expect 75 percent of flights to run.

This program aired on April 20, 2010. The audio for this program is not available.

+Join the discussion
TwitterfacebookEmail

Support the news