Langhorne Slim: Newport Folk 2009



Embed Code

Copy/paste the following code


Self-described "country-punk" guitarist and singer Langhorne Slim, born Sean Scolnick, plays ramshackle acoustic songs tinged with blues. His albums, which find him pitching his frayed vocals on the edge of a wail, also feature his band The War Eagles; the music acknowledges a debt to his influences as it clatters toward an idea of self-reliance. "Restless," from Langhorne Slim's self-titled 2008 album, contains the line, "I felt restless / I felt soft / I didn't know anymore who I was ripping off."

Slim and his band — Jeff Ratner on bass and Malachi DeLorenzo on drums — are spending the summer touring the U.S. and Canada, playing frequently with fellow Newport performers The Low Anthem and Josh Ritter. A new Langhorne Slim album arrives this fall.

Set List

"Be Set Free"

"Back to the Wild"



"Diamonds and Gold"

"Mary/Cut It Down"

"For a Little While"

"Blow Your Mind"

"In the Moonlight"

"Hello Sunshine"


"Coming Home"

"Anything for You"

"I love You but Goodbye"

"Rebel Side of Heaven"

Copyright 2016 NPR. To see more, visit

Web Resources:

Copyright NPR. View this article on