Summer Music Preview: Premieres From Cat Power, Avett Brothers, The Antlers And More

Top row (left to right): The Antlers, Cat Power; Middle row: Bill Fay, Sean Rowe, Nas; Bottom row: Christian Scott, JEFF The Brotherhood (Courtesy of the artists)

This week on All Songs Considered, hosts Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton offer sneak previews of some of the summer's most anticipated releases. The show opens with JEFF The Brotherhood's roll-down-the-windows jam, "Country Life," produced by Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys, followed by the new Spoon/Wolf Parade/New Bomb Turks supergroup Divine Fits and their effortlessly cool, "Would That Not Be Nice?".

English singer-songwriter Bill Fay returns with his first new album in 40 years, while Cat Power returns after a six-year hiatus with what may be her best album ever. A year after releasing a spectacular full-length record, The Antlers are back with a surprise EP of pure sonic bliss.

Later on the show, Bob and Robin are joined by resident hip-hop expert Frannie Kelley of The Record who selects, as Robin says, a "dope" track from Nas; and Patrick Jarenwattananon of A Blog Supreme picks jazz trumpeter (and coincidentally nephew of Nas collaborator and saxophonist Donald Harrison), Christian Scott.

The show ends with Lars Gotrich's pick, the crushing and explosive "Even If You Knew" from Six Organs of Admittance.

Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit

Jeff the Brotherhood

Hypnotic Nights will be released on July 17th on Warner Bros. Records.

Bill Fay

Life Is People will be released on August 21st on Dead Oceans.

The Antlers

Undersea will be released on July 24th on ANTI-.

Six Organs of Admittance

Ascent will be released on August 21st on Drag City.

Grizzly Bear

The as-yet-unnamed album will be released on September 18th on Warp Records.


You can hear this song on the artist's SoundCloud page.

Life is Good will be released on July 17th on Island Def Jam.

Christian Scott

Christian aTunde Adjuah will be released on July 31st on Concord.

The Very Best

MTMTMK will be released on July 17th on Moshi Moshi and Cooperative Records.

A Thing Called The Divine Fits will be released on Aug 28th on Merge Records.

The Carpenter will be released on September 11th on Universal Records.

Ivan & Alyosha

All The Times We Had will be released on August 7th on Missing Piece Records.

Sean Rowe

The Salesman and the Shark will be released on August 28th on ANTI-.

Cat Power

Note: This song can be heard in the full version of All Songs Considered. Click the link at the top of the page to "Hear The Discussion."

You can also hear the new Cat Power single, "Ruin," on the All Songs Considered blog.

Most Popular