Mott The Hoople's Ian Hunter Releases New Album

Download Audio
Ian Hunter (Photo Courtesy of
Ian Hunter (Photo Courtesy of

Ian Hunter's band Mott The Hoople released its first record in 1969, but Hunter, now in his 70s, is still going strong. His newest album is "When I'm President." It came out to rave reviews, including this from Ken Paulson on the web site who said "[Ian Hunter is] not going to be elected president, but long may he run."

We revisit our 2009 conversation with Ian Hunter in 2009 after he released the CD "Man Overboard."

Songs in this piece:

David Bowie, “All The Young Dudes,” performed by Mott the Hoople
Ian Hunter, “Babylon Blues”
Ian Hunger, “The Great Escape”
Ian Hunter, “Arms and Legs”
Ian Hunter, “Flowers”
Ian Hunter, “Girl From the Office”
Ian Hunter, “Man Overboard”

This conversation originally aired on July 21st, 2009. 


  • Ian Hunter, musician

This segment aired on January 3, 2013.


More from Here & Now

Listen Live