LISTEN LIVE: Loading...



Farms In 12 Mass. Counties To Get Disaster Relief

This article is more than 13 years old.

Gov. Deval Patrick has announced 12 Massachusetts counties that suffered agricultural production losses due to this summer's abnormally cool and rainy weather have been declared federal disaster areas.

Patrick said Monday the disaster declaration will give farmers in those counties access to loans and other assistance.

Farms in Berkshire, Bristol, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth and Worcester counties are now eligible loans and other assistance from the U.S. Farm Service Agency. Farms in Barnstable and Suffolk counties, which were declared contiguous disaster areas, also are eligible for loan assistance.

The agency will consider each farm's application based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

This program aired on October 5, 2009. The audio for this program is not available.


Listen Live