LISTEN LIVE: Loading...



Republican Leaders Name Their Debt Panel Choices

This article is more than 11 years old.

House Speaker John Boehner has named GOP Rep. Jeb Hensarling of Texas to co-chair a powerful new committee that will try to come up with a bipartisan plan this fall to reduce the federal budget deficit by more than $1 trillion.

Boehner also named Reps. Dave Camp and Fred Upton, both of Michigan, to the committee.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell has named Sens. Jon Kyl of Arizona, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and Rob Portman of Ohio to the committee.

On Tuesday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid named Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash., as the other co-chair and Sens. John Kerry, D-Mass., and Max Baucus, D-Mont, to the committee.


This program aired on August 10, 2011. The audio for this program is not available.


Listen Live