Leadership Team Named For Mass. Senate

This article is more than 8 years old.

Senate President Therese Murray has named her leadership team for the two-year session that began earlier this month, but the lineup provides few clues as to who might be in line to succeed her in the top position.

Murray tapped Sen. Stanley Rosenberg as majority leader. The Amherst Democrat replaces Frederick Berry, who retired from the Senate.

Worcester Sen. Harriett Chandler and New Bedford Sen. Mark Montigny will serve as assistant majority leaders, and Ashland Sen. Karen Spilka will be the majority whip.

Former Sen. Jack Hart of Boston had been considered a leading candidate to succeed Murray, who is barred by term limits from serving as Senate President beyond March 2015. But Hart resigned last week to accept an offer from a law firm.

This program aired on February 1, 2013. The audio for this program is not available.