Support the news

Several Incumbent Mayors Ousted Across Mass.

This article is more than 6 years old.

Amesbury's incumbent mayor says he will seek a recount after losing his re-election bid to a political newcomer by eight votes.

Mayor Thatcher Kezer lost to Ken Gray in Tuesday's election, but officials say 41 ballots did not record a vote for either candidate.

The Amesbury election was one of several Massachusetts mayoral races in which the incumbent lost, according to unofficial results.

Chicopee incumbent Michael Bissonnette lost to former mayor Richard Kos, who previously served in the office from 1997 until 2004.

Brockton incumbent Linda Balzotti lost by 55 votes to challenger Bill Carpenter.

Leominster Mayor Dean Mazzarella won an 11th term, and Holyoke Mayor Alex Morse, first elected at age 22, won a second term.

Incumbents in Lynn, Gloucester, North Adams and Newton were among the winners Tuesday.

This program aired on November 6, 2013. The audio for this program is not available.

+Join the discussion

Support the news