Mayors Of Braintree, Leominster Join MassDOT Board

Gov. Charlie Baker has appointed a pair of mayors to the reconstituted board of directors for the Massachusetts Department of Transportation.

The Legislature recently voted to expand the MassDOT board from seven to 11 members, with Secretary of Transportation Stephanie Pollack serving as chair.

Baker announced on Tuesday that he had named Braintree Mayor Joseph Sullivan and Leominster Mayor Dean Mazzarella to the board.

Sullivan served earlier this year on a special panel that examined the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority after the transit system was crippled by winter storms. The panel recommended creation of a fiscal control board to oversee the MBTA.

Sullivan is a former state representative who was elected mayor of Braintree in 2007.

Mazzarella has been Leominster's mayor for the past 22 years.


More from WBUR

Listen Live