Sarah Vaughan On Piano Jazz

Sarah Vaughan. (AFP/Getty Images)
Sarah Vaughan. (AFP/Getty Images)

Sarah Vaughan possessed one of the legendary voices in jazz. In this program from 1986, Vaughan's lively and sassy personality is on display, as are her amazing vocals.

Originally recorded Jan. 17, 1986. Originally broadcast May 8, 1986.

Set List

  • "Misty" (Burke, Garner)
  • "You are So Beautiful" (Fisher, Preston)
  • "Nice Work If You Can Get It" (G. Gershwin, I. Gershwin)
  • "Tenderly" (Fields, McHugh)
  • "My Funny Valentine" (Hart, Rodgers)
  • "East of the Sun" (Bowman)
  • "I Can't Get Started" (Duke, Gershwin)
  • "There'll Be Other Times" (McPartland, Jones)
  • "Poor Butterfly" (Hubbell)
  • "Swingin' Till the Girls Come Home" (Pettiford)
  • "If You Could See Me Now" (Dameron, Sigman)
Copyright 2015 NPR. To see more, visit

Copyright NPR. View this article on