Support the news

Excellence in Teaching26:51

This article is more than 17 years old.

Every year, as the academic year draws to a close, Boston University honors a number of professors for their outstanding work in the classroom and with their students. The Metcalf Award and the Metcalf Cup and Prize for Excellence in Teaching were established in 1974 by Arthur G. B. Metcalf, who was a longtime chairman of Boston University's Board of Trustees.

This year, professors Fred Kleiner, Diana Wylie, and Theo de Winter have been selected as the recepients of the 2002 Metcalf Award and Medal. Boston University School of Dental Medicine professor Laisheng Chou has been awarded the 2002 Metcalf Cup and Prize. According to the testimonies of their students, these teachers were singled out for their approach to their work with dedication, perseverance and positivism.

On this week's show, we spoke to three of the four recipients of this year's Metcalf Awards, professors Diana Wylie, Theo de Winter and Laisheng Chou, about their work in the classroom, what teaching means to them, and what they think goes into great and effective teaching.

This program aired on May 19, 2002.

Robin Lubbock Twitter Visual/Social Media
Robin Lubbock produces visual and social media for WBUR.


+Join the discussion

Support the news