LISTEN LIVE: Loading...



Council Approves Nominees To Mass. Parole Board

This article is more than 12 years old.

The Governor's Council on Wednesday confirmed Gov. Deval Patrick's four nominees to the embattled state Parole Board, but two of them required tie-breaking votes by Lt. Gov. Timothy Murray.

The board has been in turmoil since December, when Woburn police officer John Maguire was shot and killed by Dominic Cinelli, a career criminal who was paroled by the board in 2008.

The council voted 5-4 to approve the nominations of Lucy Soto-Abbe, a victims' advocate in the Hampden District Attorney's Office, and John Bocon, a former chief federal probation officer.

Patrick presided over the meeting so that Murray could cast the tie-breaking votes.

The vote was contentious, as dissenting councilors called the nominees inexperienced.

"Replacing experienced people who made a tragic mistake with inexperienced people is a recipe for more tragic mistakes," said Mary Ellen Manning, one of the dissenting councilors whose votes caused Murray to break the two ties.

Ina Howard-Hogan, a lawyer for the Parole Board, was confirmed on a 6-3 vote and Charlene Bonner, a forensic psychologist, was approved 8-1.

With reporting from The Associated Press and WBUR's David Boeri.


This program aired on March 30, 2011. The audio for this program is not available.


Listen Live