WBUR Wins Two 2020 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association announced today the 2020 National Edward R. Murrow Award recipients, and WBUR won two awards in the large market radio division.

WBUR’s popular podcast Endless Thread was awarded best News Series in the Large Market Radio category for its special series, Infectious: The Strange Past and Surprising Present of Vaccines — and Anti-Vaxxers. Hosts Ben Brock Johnson and Amory Sivertson, along with producer Josh Swartz, explore the weird, winding story of scientific innovation, medical disasters and online virality that radicalized new parents and created a movement that threatens to send us back to the disease-ridden dark ages. To listen to the series and to hear Endless Thread, check it out here.

WBUR’s former sports show Only A Game won for best Sports Reporting in the radio network division for a feature story on Boston Celtic’s player Tacko Fall. Listen to the winning piece: Learning To Swim With 7-Foot-5 Celtic Tacko Fall. 

The RTDNA announced the 2020 award winners in a world premiere virtual event, featuring more than 100 National Murrow Awards, selected from more than 5,000 entries.

“We know that this year has been extraordinarily tough,” said RTDNA Executive Director Dan Shelley in opening the event. “2020 has brought about challenges that have tested us at every level of our professionalism and humanity and I couldn’t be more proud that you are always there, covering it all. That you – despite the previously unthinkable professional and personal challenges you’ve faced – are continuing to serve your communities with distinction and dignity and professionalism.”

Click here to see the full list of winners.


More from Inside WBUR

Listen Live