8 Of 10 Mass. Congressional Members Vote Against Tax Cut Compromise

Though the House passed the tax cut compromise comfortably around midnight Thursday, sending the legislation to the president's desk, only two members of Massachusetts' congressional delegation voted for the bill.

Rep. Niki Tsongas, of the 5th Congressional District, and Rep. William Delahunt, the retiring congressman from the 10th, broke with the delegation to support the measure. All eight other Massachusetts congressmen voted "nay."

Overall, the bill passed 277-148, with each party contributing an almost identical number of votes in favor: Democrats with 139 and Republicans with 138.

Here's how the Massachusetts congressional delegation voted on the bill. A "Y" vote is a vote to pass the measure.

1st District:
Rep. John Olver - N

2nd District:
Rep. Richard Neal - N

3rd District:
Rep. Jim McGovern - N

4th District:
Rep. Barney Frank - N

5th District:
Rep. Niki Tsongas - Y

6th District:
Rep. John Tierney - N

7th District:
Rep. Ed Markey - N

8th District:
Rep. Michael Capuano - N

9th District:
Rep. Stephen Lynch - N

10th District:
Rep. William Delahunt - Y

Roll call votes from the Associated Press.

This program aired on December 17, 2010. The audio for this program is not available.


More from WBUR

Listen Live