Mayoral races set in Haverhill, Peabody, Springfield and Waltham following Tuesday's election

Four cities and towns in Massachusetts narrowed down their mayoral races with preliminary elections on Tuesday. Voters in Haverhill, Peabody, Springfield and Waltham will next choose between the remaining two candidates in each respective race during November's general election. Some communities also had the chance to narrow down town and city council races.

Here are the unofficial results:


In Springfield, incumbent mayor Domenic Sarno faced four challengers: Springfield City Councilor Justin Hurst, State Rep. Orlando Ramos, Springfield City Councilor Jesse Lederman and city resident David Ciampi.

Domenic Sarno and Justin Hurst were the highest vote getters in the preliminary and will move on to the final election in November. Sarno is the longest-serving mayor in Springfield's history, first taking office in 2007, but will likely face stiff competition from Hurst, who has a strong political network in his own right.

In the race for the five open city councilor-at-large seats, 10 candidates advanced out of a field of 21. Advancing in the open Ward 6 seat are Victor Davila and Shanequa Fryar, who beat out Humberto Caro.


Candidates Melinda Barrett and Scott Wood beat out Guy Everett Cooper, Debra Campanile, and George Eleftheriou, to advance to the general election in November to replace outgoing mayor James Fiorentini.

The field for the Ward 4 council seat also narrowed to two, with Melissa Lewandowski
and Kenneth Quimby moving forward. School committee preliminaries took place for Ward 4 and Ward 7. In the school committee Ward 4 race, Mikaela Lalumiere and Fred Simmons advanced. In Ward 7, Thomas Grannemann and Hunter Rogers are continuing to the general election.


Waltham held elections for Mayor, City Council and School Committee.

Incumbent Jeannette A. McCarthy and Jonathan Paz won the preliminary race for mayor, beating out Duane David Champagne Sr. Twelve of 13 councilor-at-large candidates advanced, including all six incumbents, and will vie for the six open at-large seats in the general election.

The race for Ward 3 Councilor narrowed to two candidates, with William Hanley and Paul Tracey advancing. The rest of the candidates for Wards 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 and all school committee candidates are moving on to the final election.


Newton narrowed down councilor races. In a close race for Ward 2, former White House staffer Dan Gaynor and David Micley, who has previously run for the seat, edged out Peter Bruce. In Ward 6, local activist Martha Bixby and Acton Food Pantry executive director Lisa Gordon advanced, beating New Hampshire state legislator and current Newton resident Mark Holt.


Peabody incumbent mayor Edward Bettencourt and Rochelle Agneta are moving on to face each other in the general election after edging out Robert Stevens on Tuesday. Ward 6 voters also narrowed down the race for councilor, with top vote-getters Michael Higgins and Ryan Cox advancing, beating William Cardello.

Upcoming elections

Additional preliminary elections will take place Tuesday, Sept. 19 in Amesbury, Brockton, Everett, Fall River, Framingham, Gloucester, Lawrence, Melrose, Newburyport, Pittsfield, Revere, Salem and Westfield.

Katie Cole Associate Producer, Digital
Katie Cole is an associate producer for digital.



More from WBUR

Listen Live