LISTEN LIVE: Loading...



WBUR wins 8 regional Murrow Awards, including overall excellence

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the winners of the 2023 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards honoring outstanding achievement in broadcast and digital journalism. WBUR is the proud recipient of eight regional Murrow awards — including Overall Excellence — this year.

"These awards serve as a testament to the profound impact that dedicated storytelling can have," said Victor Hernandez, chief content officer. "As journalists, we hold the power to shine a light on untold stories and ignite meaningful conversations that shape our society. It's a thrill to see the work of WBUR editorial teams being recognized today by RTDNA with such prestigious honors in so many categories."

Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that renowned journalist Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the profession. This year's eight wins come from across WBUR in the following categories:

Overall Excellence: WBUR

News Series: "The cost of child care"

News Documentary: "On Point: Invisible Epidemic: Survivors of domestic violence living with traumatic brain injury"

Investigative Reporting: "How a Mass. law intended to protect victims became a 'gift to abusers' "

Hard News: "State commission takes years to resolve discrimination cases. One took 17. Another took 15"

Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: "Boston's home loans gap"

Continuing Coverage: "Venezuelan migrants arrive in Massachusetts"

Sports Reporting: "Chinatown’s 9-Man tournament takes its Labor Day showdown to Providence"

As a regional award winner, WBUR will advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. National winners, including large and small digital news organizations and network news organizations, will be announced later this year.

About RTDNA 

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA's mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism. Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions.


Listen Live