WBUR Honored With Eight 2020 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Edward Murrow Awards 2020
WBUR is one of the winningest stations in the country / Edward Murrow Awards 2020

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the winners of the 2020 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards honoring outstanding achievement in broadcast and digital journalism, technical expertise and adherence to RTDNA’s Code of Ethics. WBUR is the proud recipient of eight regional awards, making it the winningest large market radio station in the country.

WBUR's Executive News Director, Tom Melville, congratulated the staff, recognizing the incredible work across the station with this message:

Again this year WBUR is one of the winningest stations in the country. We won eight regional Murrows in the large market division, putting us atop the pack of our peers in public radio across the country including KJZZ, WLRN and KUOW, with seven wins each. The eight wins come from across WBUR:

  • Shannon Dooling won two for her immigration reporting—best investigative reporting for her work on the relationship between ICE and the Boston Police, and best continuing coverage for breaking the national story on denial of medical deferrals. Dan Mauzy was Shannon’s radio editor on both pieces. Lisa Creamer and Berto Scalese edited the medical deferral story. The digital effort on the investigative piece was a collaborative effort among Shannon, Lisa and Ally Jarmanning.
  • Ben Brock Johnson and Amory Sivertson won for the Morning Edition special series spawned by their Endless Thread podcast series, Infectious. Of course, all the iLab podcast team—Iris Adler, Kat Brewer, Paul Vaitkus and Josh Swartz—helped bring the work to life.
  • Cloe Axelson, Frannie Carr Toth and Robin Lubbock won for best video, based on a stirring Cognoscenti column by Frederick Hewett about the climate crisis and how it will change the places we care about.
  • Jamie Bologna won the excellence in writing award for a memorable Radio Boston reported piece, edited by Hitesh Hathi, on the 50th anniversary of the iconic North End Prince Spaghetti TV commercial.
  • Shira Springer won for best sports reporting on the 2018 Boston Marathon champ Des Linden, the first American woman to win Boston in more than three decades. The Only A Game piece was edited by the whole team—Karen Given, Gary Waleik and Martin Kessler. Thanks to BRT Marquis Neal for his expert touch each week on OAG. This segment aired for a Morning Edition segment, edited by Dan Mauzy.
  • Martha Bebinger won best use of sound for her riveting Green Operating Room feature, which was graced by amazing photography from Jesse Costa. Dan Mauzy edited. Mike Garth did the mix.
  • Meghan Kelly won best social media for a rich and vibrant InstaStory on the MBTA. Meghan is supported in this social media work by Lisa Creamer and the entire digital team. Rich photography came from Robin Lubbock and Jesse Costa.

Thank you to the engineers, the BRT’s, the newsdesk staff, the journalists who work on our programs, and all the many teammates throughout WBUR who support our work. To all, congratulations. Well done.

As a regional award winner, WBUR will advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. National winners will be announced later this year.

This article was originally published on May 12, 2020.



More from Inside WBUR

Listen Live