LISTEN LIVE: Loading...

Advertisement

 

Reporters, chefs and circus performers take the CitySpace stage this season

New year, new events at WBUR CitySpace — Boston's state-of-the-art, multimedia venue for civic engagement, public conversation and artistic performance. Among the big names set to visit are The New Yorker's Adam Gopnik; NPR's All Things Considered host Ari Shapiro; chef, restaurateur and Food Network celebrity Tiffani Faison; James Beard Award-winning chef Ming Tsai; former CNN chief media correspondent Brian Stelter; and social media phenom Julian Shapiro-Barnum, host of "Recess Therapy."

"We kick off 2023 with compelling and entertaining offerings, from documentary screenings to concerts to interviews with some of NPR's renowned journalists. There's something for everyone this season," said Amy Macdonald, director of CitySpace. "In addition, we continue our popular Moth StorySLAMs and Curated Cuisine series. There will also be a special performance from WBUR's own midday host Jack Lepiarz, aka Jack the Whipper, as seen on the hit show "America's Got Talent."

Select CitySpace events will be offered as hybrid experiences with the ability to stream online or attend in person. Here's what's coming up:

January

The Moth StorySLAM: VICES (SOLD OUT)
Tuesday, Jan. 10 | 7:30 p.m.

"Instead We Became Evil": Danish rapper Sleiman discusses his music journey with journalist and historian Dart Adams
Wednesday, Jan. 25 | 6:30 p.m.

Jack the Whipper (with a guest appearance by Ses Carny)
Friday, Jan. 27 | 7 p.m. and 9 p.m.

Curated Cuisine: Celebrity chef Tiffani Faison's Big Heart Hospitality captivates Boston
Monday, Jan. 30 | 6:30 p.m.

February

Curated Cuisine: East-West cooking with celebrity chef Ming Tsai
Tuesday, Feb. 6 | 6:30 p.m.

The Moth StorySLAM: LOVE HURTS
Tuesday, Feb. 7 | 7:30 p.m.

Sound On Global: Acoustic Nomads presents "The Abominable Stringband Vol. 2"
Thursday, Feb. 16 | 7 p.m.

Democracy under threat: Former CNN chief media correspondent Brian Stelter on the news industry's future
Tuesday, Feb. 21 | 6:30 p.m.

March

Little kids, big questions, free advice: A conversation with "Recess Therapy" creator Julian Shapiro-Barnum
Thursday, March 9 | 6:30 p.m.

Sound On Global: Rasa String Quartet explores the intersection of classical and folk traditions
Sunday, March 12 | 2 p.m.

The Moth StorySLAM: STAKES
Wednesday, March 15 | 7:30 p.m.

Curated Cuisine: Celebrating Pi Day with "Pieometry" author Lauren Ko
Tuesday, March 14 | 6:30 p.m.

Listen Up: NPR Embedded's "The Capital Gazette" with Kelly McEvers and Chris Benderev
Friday, March 17 | 7 p.m.

The Real Work: The New Yorker's Adam Gopnik on the mystery of mastery
Wednesday, March 20 | 6:30 p.m.

The Best Strangers in the World: All Things Considered host Ari Shapiro discusses his new memoir
Sunday, March 26 | 4 p.m.

April

Sound On Global: Mehmet Ali Sanlıkol with George Lernis and A Far Cry present "A Gentleman of Istanbul"
Sunday, April 2 | 2 p.m.

The Longest Race: Olympian Kara Goucher on one of the biggest scandals in running history
Tuesday, April 4 | 6:30 p.m.

The Moth StorySLAM: CLEAN
Tuesday, April 11 | 7:30 p.m.

Sound On Global: Palaver Strings presents "Elements"
Saturday, April 29 | 2 p.m.

Related:

Advertisement

 
Play
Listen Live
/00:00
Close